NDEI Committee

The INS Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (NDEI) Committee believes that science is for everyone, that representation matters at all levels, and that all scientists deserve equitable treatment and opportunities. We recognize that diversity exists on many axes and that the INS program is complicit in reinforcing institutionalized racism and sexism. We believe that INS can greatly improve in its demographic and support of graduate students, faculty, and staff, and we are committed to working toward those improvements. Through our work we will promote conversation, education, and policies to further diversity, equity, and inclusion within INS. Our driving goal is to foster and encourage an inclusive environment where all students, especially those from underrepresented backgrounds, feel valued and supported.

The NDEI is a student-led committee. If you would like to become involved in the NDEI please contact Stephanie Shields or feel free to contact any of the NDEI members below with comments or concerns.


2020-2021 NDEI Student Leaders

Co-chair: Lauren Hewitt

Co-chair: Nick Jackson

Secretary: Stephanie Shields

Student Climate Coordinator: Cherish Taylor

Resource Coordinator: Ayesha Nadiadwala

Funding Coordinator: Sam Bazzi

Outreach Coordinator: Sophie Sanchez

Outreach Coordinator: Leah Truckenbrod

Neuroscience Department Liaison: Emily Grantham


Faculty Co-chair: Laura Colgin

Faculty Co-chair: Memba Jabbi